

MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE COUNCIL HELD ON 12th MARCH 2019

PRESENT: Councillor P Thurgood (Chair), Councillors R Kingstone, M Bailey, J Chesworth, R Bilcliff, A Bishop, R Claymore, T Clements, D Cook, M Cook, C Cooke, S Doyle, J Faulkner, R Ford, M Greatorex, A James, T Jay, K Norchi, J Oates, M Oates, S Peaple, Dr S Peaple, B Price, R Pritchard, R Rogers, P Standen and M Summers

The following officers were present: Andrew Barratt (Chief Executive), Anica Goodwin (Executive Director Organisation), John Day (Knowledge, Performance and Insight Co-ordinater), Angela Wakefield (Solicitor to the Council), Jo Hutchison (Democratic Services, Scrutiny and Elections Officer) and Jodie Small (Legal, Democratic and Corporate Support Assistant)

64 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor M Gant and Councillor S Goodall

65 TO RECEIVE THE MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING

The minutes of the two meetings held on 26th February 2019 were approved and signed as a correct record.

(Moved by Councillor D Cook and seconded by Councillor Dr S Peaple)

66 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no Declarations of Interest.

67 TO RECEIVE ANY ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM THE MAYOR, LEADER, MEMBERS OF THE CABINET OR THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

None

68 STATE OF TAMWORTH DEBATE

The Leader of the Council informed Members of the new vision and priorities. The two topics for debate were; People and Place, and Organisation.

Following the debate the following motions were approved

RESOLVED That Members requested

That all staff within the organisation be thanked for all the work that they do to contribute towards the operation of the Council.

That the Leader of the Council discusses with the Leader of the Opposition the key areas of the debate which could be referred to the Scrutiny Committees for their consideration next year.

(Moved by Councillor D Cook and seconded by Councillor Dr S Peaple)

Before the motions were voted on, Councillor S Peaple and Councillor A James had left the meeting.

The Mayor